We have made it through 5 weeks!

week5

Can I get an amen?!?!  We have successfully made it through 5 weeks of the Brain Balance program!  Some days it feels like we have been doing this for years…but the rewards are SO fulfilling!!!

Example…yesterday morning we (Jase and I) overslept because our alarms didn’t go off.  We woke up at 7:20am…and Dalton’s transport arrives at 7:10am. #parentingfail  SO…I immediately jump out of bed and rush upstairs panicked of course at the morning that I just KNOW is going to be ahead of me.  But instead of finding Dalton still snoozing away in his bed…he is standing on the front porch in a t-shirt (with no bottoms…which is hilarious in itself)…munching on a banana.  He looks at me and says, “Good morning mom.  You overslept.  And Miss Peggy is already here waiting for me.”  I said, “I know buddy, I’m so sorry.”  He then said, “It’s ok.  I already got my clothes out of my room and is it ok if I eat breakfast at school today?  I won’t have time to eat because I have to go now.”  INTERNAL MONOLOGUE:  Seriously?!?!  Is this my child?!?!  Did some alien invasion happen during the night that I was unaware of???  Because this appears to be a pod person.  This CANNOT be happening right now.  Am I awake?  This has got to be a dream…

He then happily finished getting dressed and bounced out the door with his daddy and had no issues getting into the transport either.  Jasen came back inside and I looked at him and there was absolute, complete disbelief on both of our faces.  Wow….reflecting on it today I have no words to adequately explain how I felt in that moment and have since then.

This morning (we did NOT oversleep) Dalton did his whole morning routine and then came and sat outside on the back porch with me where I was having my morning coffee.  He sat down in the chair next to me and just sat and smiled and looked at the sky and the trees and took some deep breaths and said, “Today is going to be a great day!  What’s the name of that tree?  It’s really old so it should have a name, don’t you think mom?”  LOL!!!  He is SUCH a funny guy!

Jase and I have realized that Dalton reflects much of his progress and successions (more often) in the mornings before he has his medication and when he is well rested.  While we aren’t comfortable taking him off his meds yet (nor would we without the guidance of his pediatrician)…this does show us once again that real change is happening inside Dalton.  Physically, mentally and emotionally.

work-in-progress

Leave a Reply

